Dog Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I have no dog owning experience, but I do have some experience with them as I have friends with dogs, and some family too.

I'm more of a bird person, but she passed away the 10th of May and I won't be ready for another one for quite some time and I would love to have a dog and a bird in the future.
I'm thinking it'd be smarter to get the dog first to train it properly.

Now; I would like it to be sort of like a service animal due to my different forms of anxiety-related issues.
I would prefer a medium sized dog (australian shepherds, australian cattle dogs etc.), or a larger breed would be alright too.
I don't think I could handle excessive shedding, seasonal is fine but constant year-round shedding would be too much for me.

I'll be gone for approximately 6 hours 3 times a week and 4 hours twice a week. So there'll be time for exercise, I love going for walks and whatnot, so it'd be nice with a partner too.

I'm not really sure what else I should bring up so feel free to ask if I forgot something and you need more to go on to suggest a suitable breed for me to read up on.

·
Premium Member
4,599 Posts
This:
Hi!
(australian shepherds, australian cattle dogs etc.)
does not go with this:
I don't think I could handle excessive shedding, seasonal is fine but constant year-round shedding would be too much for me.
I'll be gone for approximately 6 hours 3 times a week and 4 hours twice a week.
There is a joke that Aussies shed twice a year...for 6 months at a time :) That beautiful coat does shed, fairly heavily in the summer months for sure. ACDs I think are decent shedders as well, just different hair. Instead of the long hair of the Aussie, you get the short stiff hairs of the ACD.