Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

This is my first time posting, I've spent a few days reading posts and this seems to be a great forum.

I'm one of the many posting to ask for advice about what type of dog I should get, though perhaps a little different than some others as I'm not really interested in breed as much as personality. Let me explain a bit: I grew up with dogs, but only got my first dog as an adult 3 years ago when I felt I was in a stable enough job, living situation, etc. I adopted my dog from a rescue. He was approx 7-9 years old, and unfortunately he died after only 2 years together, about a year ago now, which broke my heart. I loved him dearly and wouldn't have traded him for the world, but he was not what you would call an "easy" dog in terms of personality. He was extremely shy, fearful, and reactive to other people--I worked a lot with a great force free positive reinforcement trainer and did a lot of work with him myself (again, only positive reinforcement clicker training) and while he improved a lot, he was not the kind of dog you would be easy about approaching other people, meaning I largely stopped having people over (and I've always loved having friends over for dinner and stuff as I love to cook), walks had to be very very carefully managed, vet visits were incredibly stressful, etc. I'm sure those of you with similar dogs can understand. When I started dating my bf it took a long long time and a lot of patience before they became good friends.

It's been a year now, and I'm starting to think of dogs again, but frankly I don't know if I could deal with how emotionally tiring, stressful, and isolating it was to have a fearful dog who needed careful management. I NEVER would have given up on him or gotten rid of him, he was the sweetest boy when it was just the 2 of us, but I really don't know if I could do it again.