Dog Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel named Milly. She is two years old, and unfortunately, on the verge of being overweight! I've been researching different veggies I can give to my dog, and carrots are a big plus. They are great with vitamins, although I'm not exactly sure how much is too much. I've been thinking that I should replace 1/4 cup of her food with chopped carrots, three times a week. Is that a healthy option? Or should I just keep the carrots as treats?
PS- She eats 1/2 cup in the morning and 1/2 cup at night. Totaling 1 cup of food a day.

·
Registered
298 Posts
I am no food expert so don't quote me on this. This is more of an opinion..

Dogs respond to food unbalances really quick. The food you feed her is probably a naturally balanced diet that has been proven for dogs. By switching it out a couple times a week with carrots you may be off setting that healthy balance. Though I am sure they would be fine for treats. Maybe ask your vet, who may have some insight on if this would be a beneficial change for your dog or not, because really if it does no harm it probably is doing your dog good.

All the best wishes with Milly!

·
Registered
5,929 Posts
Carrots and string beans are a good low calorie foods. Its important to get the weight off. You cannot over dose on carrots. Replacing part of her food with veggies will not harm her. I would use them as treats also. Most dog treats are very high calorie.

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts
How much should she weigh?

When I had my 24 lb dog I fed him a little less then 1 cup a food per day. My new boy is 11 lbs and he gets 1/2 cup food a day and is on the chubby side since he's low energy and I don't dare feed him any less then that I have to up the exercise.