Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Our Jack Russell of 15 weeks can't be housenbroken. My sister has a dog out of the same nest and hers is already housebroken. Now I'm a student, and my mom is partially disabled. My mom is very stressed (she was already crying over it today) that he just pees everywhere. This morning he peed at 3 places, while running around.

I know, it may not have been a wise decision to get a puppy. But what is your advice to us? My mom can't handle it anymore, and I can barely combine it with my study.

~ Jelle

·
Registered
495 Posts
A few thoughts: Fifteen weeks is still really, really young. That puppy is basically a very young toddler yet. While they can be reliable at that age, it's much more common for them to still be learning. And, you can't compare your pup to his sibling. His circumstances are very different.

If the two of you are unable to dedicate lots of time, then yes, getting a puppy may have been a poor choice. However, he's still very young and you have lots of time to keep working on housetraining. It's a long time before you can consider him housebroken, even if he was being reliable.

Please read this: Errorless Housetraining | Dog Star Daily

In short, housetraining is about being ridiculously consistent. At this age, take the puppy out ever half an hour, and praise hugely when he goes! Keep him in an exercise pen or tethered to whoever is watching him so that you can keep a close eye on him. If you can't be there to keep a super close eye, use a crate. Obviously, do not keep him in there constantly, but small amounts of time will help to keep him to a schedule when you can't be right overhead watching for the tell-tale signs of pee or poop.