Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!! Quick question. Is there a way to verify CGC certification other than the certificate that the AKC sends out? I am moving and the place asked if my pup had any kind of specilized training so I told them she’d passed her CGC test about a year ago (so proud of my girl) and they asked for proof so I sent them a pic of her certificate and they asked for her registration number to verify it with akc?!? Is that a thing? Because I don’t remember getting anything other than the certificate from them

·
Registered
618 Posts
Sounds legit that they want to verify it with the akc. Otherwise the picture of the certificate could belong to any dog. I’m not experienced with the akc or this CGC certificate but shouldn’t you be able to see it if you look up her registration number? In that case, just give them her registration number and they should be able to see her CGC certificate.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds legit that they want to verify it with the akc. Otherwise the picture of the certificate could belong to any dog. I’m not experienced with the akc or this CGC certificate but shouldn’t you be able to see it if you look up her registration number? In that case, just give them her registration number and they should be able to see her CGC certificate.
But she’s not registered with akc? She’s a mix and a rescue so I don’t have any akc paper work with her

·
Registered
618 Posts
Okay but she must be registered somewhere with an id chip? I guess the certificate has to be specified with some registration number as well? You should be able (with paperwork or through a database) to prove that you own the dog with the registration number that matches the one o the certificate.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·