Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a new vegetable farmer who is considering acquiring a working dog to help deter deer in my vegetable fields. I travel regularly to visit family and take several family vacations throughout the year. I am considering a Great Pyrenees for the farm working dog but am not sure how the dog will handle my family's absence during long weekends and vacations. We have two indoor/outdoor cats who we leave home for several weeks at a time (inside). They are not upset by this absence and continue about their business with no ill effects. Our neighbor checks in every three days to visit them and maintain their litter and feed/water. Would this system work with a working dog who lives outdoors? Any dog we acquire would not be a pet, but rather an employee of the farm with a very important job to do. The dog will patrol our 10 acres of production (we have 85 acres in total) and would live entirely off-leash and un-fenced. I have never owned a dog and am not fully familiar with the emotional needs of working dogs. Any guidance and/or advice? Thank you.

·
Registered
249 Posts
A GP or other flock guardian types, would probably do the trick for keeping away deer.

You say the property is unfenced. Know that almost all flock guardians, tend to wander. They often consider everyone's property around, as their own. Very secure and high fencing is an absolute must. Many will try to chase another animal through/over a fence.

They are barkers. This is why so many are found in rescue. Might not do well if you have close neighbours.

Leaving the dog alone is not probably a good idea. He/she might also chase a human who visits unexpectedly, while you are away. If you had a neighbour with whom the dog was very familiar and who could check a couple of times a day, feed and water, then it might work.