Dog Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, hello to everyone! This is my first time on the forum and my first time posting. It's great to see so many fellow dog-lovers here.

I am here because I would like some guidance and/or hear opinions from people that have gone through similar situations.

My issue is that I have a 2 year-old Rat Terrier/Chihuahua mix that I rescued when he was only 3 weeks old. This is the first pet I have ever had, so you can imagine how well I have treated him. He has been treated like a king since day one. He was so energetic and loved to play. He was the only pet in the house for about 2 years and received all the attention from me, my wife, and everyone else.

Two weeks ago, I rescued another puppy (male as well and same breed). However, ever since then, my first dog has been acting weird. He hasn't been as playful, doesn't follow me around as he used to, and has been eating less as well (he was always a sucker for food). The puppy loves him and follows him wherever he goes. The first dog, though, just seems depressed.

Is this normal? Will it go away with time? What can I do to make it better? It sounds ridiculous, but he is making me feel guilty for bringing home another dog.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Our dogs, different dogs, three occasions, all took an adjustment period of about 2-3 weeks to accept the new dog.

Your dog probably has his nose out of joint, and so long as he isn't going to attack he puppy I'd let them crack on. Don't shower one or the other with attention, just go about with what you're doing.

It may be a good idea to go to puppy classes to give your other dog some respite from the playfullness that all pups have.

One of our Irish Setters decided to be an absolute madam when we brought home the pup. Two weeks she wanted nothing to do with us or the puppy, until we found her barking at the sky, stood over the puppy and a big bird of prey was circling above.

·