Dog Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I'm picking this boy up from a rescue on Saturday and he was guess-timated to be a year old. I'm by no means a professional but he seems like he's still going through his "ugly" puppy stage. Just a tad disproportionate in some spots. I'm starting to question if he's not just a tad younger.

*I do think some of the disproportionate is the fact that he does need to gain some healthy weight.

Also any guess on breed? Thanks!
Dog Plant Carnivore Grass Collar

Dog Collar Plant Carnivore Fawn

Dog Plant Leaf Dog breed Carnivore

·
Registered
2,033 Posts
That's going to grow up to be one good looking dog, don't worry if there's some disproportion now. Puppies almost always go through some form of an awkward stage, especially larger breeds. This pup looks to me as though there is some bully breed in him, like Staffordshire, and maybe some hunting breed like GSP. Wide eyes and head looks bully, as does the body build and fur, but somehow I sense the pointer as well. The shape of the muzzle, turned up a little bit as it seems to me, could indicate a bit of boxer in there as well. As for age, without seeing the size and movement of the dog ir his teeth, it's hard to say. Between 6 months and a year is about as close as I would want to guess. You can tell a lot about age from how the pup acts.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·