Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, please pardon me if I am asking a question that's been asked a million times, I did search but couldn't find an answer.

We just adopted a Lab mix from the local Humane Society. We discovered the possibility of the pit mix after the process and the dog has been with my daughter for a week.

My wife and I are GREATLY concerned about the pit part of the mix. We have always had shepherds and huskies so those are the breeds we know as well as the "stigma" around a pit.

Is this a family and friend safe dog? We would LOVE to hear your collective experiences with this breed?

Thanks in advance,

Jason

·
Super Moderator
625 Posts
First, I have no experience of Pits because in the UK we have legislation that bans them. But. The legislation is considered to be severely flawed as it is based purely on looks, not on behaviour. And from fairly extensive reading, Pits are often described as being very people oriented. If you think about the reason for their reputation, it was because they were used as fighting dogs. For a dog to enter a fighting ring, it would generally have to be quite handler focussed or it just wouldn't do it. Anyone I have known to have them (I have a few acquaintances in the US) has described them as loyal and undeserving of their reputation. And Labs of course are generally very people friendly.

It is early days so his true personality won't be coming through, and of course your family's safety has to come first. If you have any concerns why not muzzle train him? A muzzle would give you some peace of mind and properly trained, dogs accept them very well. This short video will help.

·
Registered
247 Posts