Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys!

I'm coming here because I'm going to be a first-time dog owner in 3 weeks. My cockapoo, Rumi, will be coming home and I'm in serious research mode (have been for a couple of months now).

I'm going to get her an exercise pen and a crate that will be in the pen indoors in my bedroom, but I'm having trouble deciding on what kind of exercise pen to get. I'm also a student, so I'm looking for the best options that are, if possible, cost-effective. I have a few friends with dogs but they've never taken one on personally, so I'm having a hard time finding advice I can trust.

Ideally, I would get this: Midwest Exercise Pen with Door - 30" - Gates & Exercise Pens - Dog - PetSmart

But it is a hefty price for me to pay. The great part, it seems, is that it has a door, because this one has no door and is $20 cheaper!

Midwest Black Exercise Pen Without Door - 30" - Gates & Exercise Pens - Dog - PetSmart

Do you guys think it's worth it to pay $20 just for a door? Will I get frustrated not having one?

And also, do you think 30" height is too short/tall for a cockapoo? She's not going to be more than 23" and that is a high estimate. My breeder said a 24" is too short, but I don't know how high to go because I've never personally experienced dogs and don't know how high she would be able to jump. (Right now she's very little but later).

ALSO, I'm wondering what are the best kind of materials to put under the whole pen, since I have hardwood floors that I wouldn't want to ruin with her pee.

I was thinking of something like this: 5 ft. x 7 ft. Blue Tarp-BPF005007 at The Home Depot

Or this: 3 sq. ft. Plastic White Corrugated Sheets (15-Pack)-COR-2418-15 at The Home Depot

I would really appreciate any help you guys can give! Nobody in my family has ever had dogs (just cats), and this is a whole new area for me, and I just want to make her life with me as awesome as possible.

·