Dog Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I am new to this formum and looking for some advice and ideas. My first question is, has anyone ever seen or heard of a bark collar and wireless fence all wrapped up into one device? I have looked at petsmart and chewy to find one but they both came up blank. The person I talk to at petsmart was almost sure that they were out there but couldn't come up with any results. Thanks in advance!

James

·
Registered
Z, Rescue Mutt
128 Posts
Hi! Please take the time read my whole post- I won't be rude and judgmental if you don't decide to take this advice, but I really think it's important for you and your dog. I may sound a bit angry in this post- rest assured, I don't mean it that way- but the facts just paint it that way- you'll see what I mean, I think. Thanks!

bark collar: your dog's excessive barking is the result of either boredom (try find-the-treats or hide-and-seek and fetch)or lack of physical exercise (walks and fetch) and mental stimulation(trick training, smelling on walks), or is simply your dog trying to communicate(hey look, there's a squirrel outside!). Either way, punishing them with pain is not the best idea (generally). It could do any of these things, and more:
a) cause your dog stress, or even fear. Especially since dogs do not initially make the connection between barking and the shock.
b) cause your dog to bottle up this anxiety, and then all the sudden lash out- even at a time when they are not wearing the collar- with aggression and biting
c) cause your dog to bark, then instantly cower with fear, rather than stopping the problem
d) it could actually worsen the barking problem