Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time fostering and I’ve had by far the worse experience . I wanted to foster a dog from my local animal shelter because I love dogs and I wanted to help a dog in need . I spoke with a coordinator and she asked me about my life style and what dog I wanted . I mentioned I’m a working woman ( Monday - Friday 9-5pm ) and I live in a basement apartment so a small to medium size dog would be preferred . She sends me pictures of a hound and from the pictures the doggy look fairly medium and cute so I said yes ! That’s the one for me . She mentioned he was medium energy and his background ( he was meant to be a hunting dog and was outdoors for most of his time ) . So I get my new doggy and first of all he’s MUCH bigger than in the pictures . He’s 60 lbs and reaches about everything in my apartment and taller than me on high legs ( dog gates don’t help ) . Anywho , I thought well that’s not that serious , I can deal . I was so excited . I began to pet and play with him and things were great . Crate time was a breeze , he had few accidents but nothing crazy . First night went smooth . Second day - I followed the routine they mentioned he was on ( food at 9am and 5pm . Walks in the morning , afternoon , and night ) but my doggy didn’t like being home . I would take him out for 45 min walks and he would come home to scratch and bark at my first door . I tried to seek help advice on what to do with my coordinator . She was no help . She left me to fend for myself . I took him to the dog park . I went jogging with him , playing with him , gave him rubber toys with treats etc etc . Nothing worked . He would come home and scratch , bark and whine at my front door and when I wouldnt take him out he would lash out and pee everywhere . Night time came and this time he didn’t want to crated . I tried putting him near my bed . I tried everything I could read and nothing worked ( I didn’t slee