Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are you a +R/-P only, balanced, or +P/-R only?

Why? or Why not?

I'm +R/-P only. I used to be balanced but I have converted to force free training and found I had great results with a lot of dogs I've worked with!

My Chihuahua x (Peanut) is fearful. I used to correct him for growling and biting me when I clipped his nails. I found out that conditioning was a thing, and I started conditioning him to clippers. Now, I can clip his nails without any problem!

My dad's Rottweiler was a pain. He didn't listen for the first year of his life. My dad was very forceful towards him, and he didn't listen to my dad. I started training him with +R and he started to come when called (even without treats), was able to be off leash and didn't pull on leash anymore.

I personally don't like aversives because I like to show my dog what I want, rather than what I don't want. I want to set my dog up to succeed, even if my training takes longer. I also don't want to cause my dog pain or discomfort.

·
Registered
165 Posts
I would say I'm majority +R/-P in training, with small exceptions. In instances where I need to teach a dog NOT to do something (so not "I would prefer you to do this instead" instances but "I don't care WHAT else you do do NOT DO THAT") than I will use +P.