Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would welcome any suggestions...I graduated in 2007 and have X amount of loans with what? Stafford loans and X amount with another kind of loan. I was paying back pretty steady for a few years. Then was out of work. They gave me unemployment related extensions. Don't know if I'm eligible for any more.
I'm working now but they just sliced our hours. I've got like 12 hours for next week. Looking for a second part time job, everybody else is looking too so it's tricky. There is forgiveness for teachers...except there is a freeze on hiring teachers in this state, plus with lack of math skills I don't think I'd pass the PRAXIS.
They have forgiveness for veterans, I'm too old to enlist but my Dad served for five years. Don't know if that helps any...I know I'll be paying loans until I die but anyone have suggestions on how to get on top of this? I've been avoiding calling to straighten this out and it's time I do.
Any other avenues to make it more manageable?:ponder:

·
Super Moderator
11,911 Posts
I don't have a ton of answers for you but can give a bit more info about the teacher forgiveness . My husband is actually going to be applying at the end of this school year.

Basically you need to teach for 5 consecutive years at an eligible school, have loans from before or during your 5 years, and not be in default on your loans.

IDK if that would apply to your situation but here's the info.
Student Loan Forgiveness < Stafford Loans Repayment

Also IDK much about it but you can apply for deferment if you're unemployed or having a difficult time financially. A friend did this a few years ago when she divorced.
This might help you figure out if derferment is a possibility for you.:)
http://www.staffordloan.com/repayment/deferment.php

·
Banned
7,625 Posts