Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Would love to hear from anyone who has a Cocker Spaniel/ Poodle mix. What is your dog like with children/strangers/other dogs? What was puppy hood like? How was house training? How about other training? Any info would be greatly appreciated. And if you can highly recommend your breeder, would love that info as well. Thanks!

·
Registered
2,800 Posts
I have a cockapoo and I've been working professionally with dogs for 5 years so I've met quite a few. Every one I've met has been lovely. They have all been extremely friendly with people, dogs, and other animals. However, I've known some purebred poodles that have been snappy or fearful, and I've heard in some lines cockers can be as well so it's important that you talk to the breeder about their dogs' temperaments, meet the parents, and make sure you properly socialize your puppy.

I can't really remember too much of Mia's puppyhood because I was pretty young when we got her. I was the one who did a lot of her training and she learned really quickly. They're pretty smart dogs, but not so smart that they're a challenge. House training was pretty straightforward with Mia. We crate trained her and limited her to the kitchen but she didn't have many accidents at all. By the time she was around 6 months we were able to leave her alone for short periods of time in the house. I don't remember house training ever being a problem.