Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm a new user here. :)

My dog Ripley is a 1 year old spayed female Chihuahua/Cocker mix that I adopted from the local animal shelter as a 2 month old puppy. She is a lovely dog, but she has an embarrassing problem.

Since she was about 4 months old she has had issues with her anal glands. They fill up very quickly and require regular expression. If I don't express them, she will scoot and lick at her butt for relief. Fortunately I am a veterinary technician so I'm not squeamish about it, but it does get tiresome. I keep track of how often she needs expressing and we are currently up to careful internal expression once a week.

That's bad. But fortunately I think I figured out part of the problem. I'm pretty sure she is allergic to poultry - chicken, to be precise. I started her on a poultry-free diet (salmon & sweet potato dry food) and a supplement called Glandex, but about two weeks later she suddenly developed a UTI.

We went to the vet for a urinalysis and ~$300 later I have 2 weeks of Clavamox tablets and an overpriced bag of Royal Canin Urinary S/O dry food which contains, you guessed it, CHICKEN. They found some struvite crystals in her urine and wanted her on the prescription diet to dissolve the crystals (her urine pH was 7.5). Everything was fine for a few days, but she's just started licking at her paws more, having gas, and passing soft stools. I'm convinced it's because of the chicken-based food.

What to do when a pet is allergic to their prescription diet?

And what to do about her awful anal glands? I'm trying to avoid anal sacculectomy because of how painful and expensive it is, not to mention the risk of fecal incontinence. We definitely don't want that.

So far I've come up with this "game plan":
1. Continue using Glandex supplement powder daily
2. Switch to a poultry-free, potato-free, limited ingredient diet (i.e. Lamb & Pea or similar)