Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I really need some input on my situation. I'm a college student and live with my parents and we all share a dog, Marley, who is 1 year and 3 months old. We have had him since he was about 10 weeks and he was always the sweetest puppy. Never barked and loved everyone. It seems like right after his first birthday he changed. Suddenly he became aggressive towards random individuals and dogs. We figured it had to do with his hormones so we had him neutered in the beginning of June. He has calmed down as far as marking is concerned and it might have helped a little with the aggression but for the most part it hasn't changed.

We have tried to distract him when dogs and strangers go by and as long as he can't see them it works but he knows someone is there and tries to look around us. We have also tried talking calmly and petting him, telling him good boy when he doesn't bark at dogs and strangers, telling him calmly no when he does bark at strangers and dogs, etc. The hard part is that it's completely random who he is going to bark at so it's hard to know when to be ready or what to do to prevent the situation, and when it does happen he gets so worked up he completely ignores us telling him no or trying to calm him down.

It has also escalated to the point where if he gets loose he will get into a fight with dogs, or chase and lunge at the people. Unfortunately my dad doesn't watch him as well as the rest of us so this has happened a few times. He has gotten into one or two dog fights and chased a couple people but thankfully he hasn't bitten anyone. I'm honestly terrified he will bite someone and we will have to put him down.

I would like to try training with a professional but right now we don't really have the money for that. Does anyone have any suggestions that we could try at home? I'm pretty desperate at this point. I want my sweet dog back.

·
Premium Member
4,613 Posts