Dog Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I currently own a black labrador retriever/pitbull mix named Bubby. Ive introduced him to a pack of hunting dogs before (since my dad got him specificly for hunting, but he turned out to be more of a one-person dog and wont listen to him, and since I'm against hunting I sure aint teaching him!) Anyway, since he is an only dog, I want to get another dog his size. He does well with other dogs, but doesnt like males or ANY other species, and of his own. So, the new puppy will have to be female. I have a lot experiance with all different breeds, and I have a lot of knowledge about different breeds, I dont think it will be a problem to find the perfect puppy. There is one problem though, TOO MUCH VARIETY!!!
I have several breeds in mind, and I dont know wether to get a puppy from a breeder, rescue a dog, or what. My friend has a purebred white golden retriever that got out and is pregnant, and since she is such a pretty dog, I want one of her puppies. On the other hand, I want to rescue a dog from the pound because that is actually saving a life. But, once I get to thinking, wont most of the puppies that the retriever has end up in a shelter? I mean, they will be mix breeds and since the owner is irresponsible as it is, you never know what will happen. Well, my dog limit is three, so why cant I just get a puppy and adopt later? Its so confusing o_O
Maybe it will be easier if I list some breeds Im interestead in, and ya'll give me suggestions?
Okay...
Golden Retriever
Labrador Retriever
Pitbull
German Shepherd
Rottweiler
Border Collie, or a collie of some sort.