Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hello :)
I would like some advice and opinions on owning a dog whilst working.
I am a freelance illustrator but work part time 10-4, each day of the week. (weekends off)

Luckily I work five minutes from home so I will easily be able to make it home on my hour lunch break. I grew up with labradors but my mum worked from home so they were rarely left alone day to day. I live an active lifestyle and would be commitment to walking my dog morning and evening, however, I still have reservations, especially if I get a puppy.

Thoughts on working these hours and juggling a young happy dog? I would love to hear from anyone in a similar boat and how you've been able to give your dog enough time and attention despite it.

As I mentioned Ive grown up around labradors and adore them but am open to other breed advice supposing they tolerate being left alone any better? If thats even a thing! (doubt).

My main priority is obviously that dog is happy and healthy above all else.

Thankyou

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Well I'm awake for about 15 hours a day and work part time as well, so that means I'm working anywhere from 3-6 hours which gives me 9-12 hours with my dog - which is plenty of time for exercise! He's an Aussie though and needs a lot of it (not 9 hours mind you, but about 2-4 is what he gets. Keeping in mind that's not necessary and I spend a lot of time with him, however Aussies do need a bit more exercise than your average dog)

Out of curiosity what kind of puppies are you looking at? Shelter mixes or a purebred from a breeder? What breed?

If you want a puppy then crate training will help a lot, and inevitably someone will have to drop by within the 6 hours you're working to let the puppy out a few times with some play time. So if you know anyone start calling! Make sure it's someone who you can rely on.