Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My mother has had a maltipoo for about 7 years now. The dog is very energetic and often at your feet. My mother is intentionally not as careful as she should be when walking with the dog in the house, and sometimes steps on her feet, causing the dog to yelp.
When this happens my mom will say "well, she has to learn not to walk so close." My feeling is that the dog has been in this environment for 7 years so if they haven't learned by now, they aren't going to. She doesnt step on the dog's toes often though I still think she should be more careful.
I'm especially careful with the dog and over that time and rarely if ever step on her. I feel it's a cruel and unrealistic way to try to teach an animal. I'm not a dog expert though and would like others thought on this and how to handle it. Thank you in advance.

·
Super Moderator
318 Posts
My mother has had a maltipoo for about 7 years now. The dog is very energetic and often at your feet. My mother is intentionally not as careful as she should be when walking with the dog in the house, and sometimes steps on her feet, causing the dog to yelp.
When this happens my mom will say "well, she has to learn not to walk so close." My feeling is that the dog has been in this environment for 7 years so if they haven't learned by now, they aren't going to. She doesnt step on the dog's toes often though I still think she should be more careful.
I'm especially careful with the dog and over that time and rarely if ever step on her. I feel it's a cruel and unrealistic way to try to teach an animal. I'm not a dog expert though and would like others thought on this and how to handle it. Thank you in advance.
Hi.

That isn't "care". it's abuse. If my mum did that to her cats in front of me, I'd do the same to her and see how she liked it.