Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to puppy ownership and new to the forum, so I'll be asking some silly questions over the next few months!:p

So my girlfriend and I have a 8 week old Dalmatian called Brutus. We have had him one week. We have a crate for him, a big one (42") possibly too big? He's pretty comfortable in it and sleeps reasonably well in it.

My main question is, we leave him in the crate overnight, and have been told by other dog owners - friends, family etc, not to go to him when he cries. I generally go to him around 5am for his first toilet visit of the day. What I'm worried about is he's not able to hold his bladder all night, and so is weeing in his crate ( but not pooing). Surely this isnt good for him and his house training though? At the same time, I don't want him to think I'll just appear whenever he cries.

Any advice will be gratefully received :thumbsup:

·
Registered
13,331 Posts
You are right! Pup needs to go out at least once to wee at night. Its not good for his housetraining to force him to soil his crate bed.

The thing that has worked for me for 4 puppies in a row, is to have the crate right next to my bed at night. When puppy gets restless in the middle of the night, I know its time for a potty break. He will learn to trust you to help him go out so he does not have to pee his bed.

Here's the routine... Make sure pup has had plenty of exercise and is nice and tired before bedtime. Take him out for his last potty just before you are ready to go to sleep. Put him in his crate gently with a couple of small treats. Everyone goes to bed and turns out the light. Pup may fuss a little. Do Not say anything to him. Neither scold him nor sooth him with your voice. Instead, just reach your hand down so he can lick your fingers. That will help settle him. He should settle down and go to sleep within a half hour or so.