Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

This is my first time I’ve ever tried posting to one of these sites. My girlfriend and I have recently adopted an 8 month old Jindo from Korea. We have had him for a month so far, and he is well behaved for the most part, but a couple of weeks ago we ran into the problem of him not wanting to go through our door outside.

For a little context, we live on the third floor of an apartment building, which already posed a problem. There are only exterior stairs which he resisted going up and down the first few days, but managed to do after seeing us go a few times. At this point he would follow us out the door no problem for about two weeks and then on the first day of the third week, he refused to get near the door.

We think this might be because the day prior we decided to walk him to the park area across the street. We had done this a couple of times before, and didn’t think it would be a problem, but this time there happened to be a lot of people out. He might have gotten spooked as now he reacts with fear whenever he hears people being loud or children screaming/crying (our apartment complex has a lot of families).

He is perfectly fine inside, but opening the door will cause him to become alert and retreat to the corner of the room if he hears someone. We are becoming worried as the other day he had to go pee bad and had an accident indoors. The thing is he is very well potty trained and naturally ran towards the door to go outside but ran back to the corner as we began opening the door. We have tried luring him with treats which usually takes up to an hour to even get him near the door only for him to hear a child and run back in. At that point I have had to carry him out as he is at his limit for holding everything in.