Dog Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Im kinda new to this. I got a 4 week old Shorkie last week. I know he is very young, the lady we got him from did not have time for puppies and it was an accidental pregnacy and blah blah.. But anyway..
She kept these puppies in a x-pen with a puppy pad near the bed.

For the first week:
When I first got him I did not feel safe leaving him alone so I would bring him to work with me. (He slept all day) He did excellent with going after his long naps.. I would see him sniff, and bring him to the pad. and instantly he would go.

For the past few days:
He does great at home alone in the pen. When I am home on the other hand, he rather urinates in the kitchen or living room. I catch him as soon as he squats softly tell him NO and put him on his pad and say go potty. 1 out of 10 chances he will actually finish.. the other 9 chances, he wants to play. I ignore him and walk away but he follows and I catch him squatting in the same places (living room/kitchen).
I have him at work with me today because he has a worm treatment later. I have his usual set up, bed with the pad right by it and food on a different side. At least 3 times I have watched him sniff. I put him on the pad and he thinks I want to play. I walk away and the process repeats until I turn and its too late because he pees on the floor. I put him on the pad and it doesnt work..

Also, When he does go on the pad I reward with a treat. I dont think he gets the hint that I want him to go on a pad.

I NEED ADVICE ON WHAT TO DO TO GET HIM completely trained. So we can leave him unattended in the home later and expect him to go on his pad no matter what room he is in.

·
Registered
13,331 Posts